When best books desire for similar arises. After completing the Hunger Game series by Suzanne Collins even I felt the dying urge to read more books which were similar to The Hunger Games. After reading many books and leaving them in the middle I finally settled down on Divergent series written by American author Veronica Roth. It is her debut novel and there are three novels in the Divergent series. It was already famous by the time I came to know. But it is yet another mind blowing novel.

Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth

If you have loved The Hunger Game series, you are bound to enjoy the Divergent series as well. Though story line up and everything is very different. Yet Divergent draws from the concept of The Hunger Game and is written specially keeping teens in mind. divergent by veronica routhDivergent is the first book in a trilogy of books by Veronica Roth. The second book is Insurgent and the third Allegiant – due out on 22nd October 2013. The third book is already a rage among the teen book lovers and according to Amazon the pre orders for Allegiant has outsold Mockingjay, The Hunger Game 3.

In this series, you will read about dystopia world where society is divided into five faction. Teens at the age of 16 has to give a mandatory aptitude test which will decide into which faction they belong. Abnegation who put others before their own needs, the Dauntless who are brave and fearless, the Erudite who are studious, the Amity who are peaceful, and the Candor who are honest. Normally, each person has one of the five traits in them. But the protagonist of the novel, Beatrice has three traits which makes her dangerous. What is the reason behind this forms the rest of the novel story which I do not wish to disclose as it will take away the charm of the novel. Divergent series has its fair share of violence and killing but in a much controlled way. But the book also has action, bravery, a little romance, and a ton of adventure and thrill. At the end of the book I felt the same breathlessness as it was in the case of Hunger Games.

Insurgent is the second book in the series which continues the dilemma and struggle of Beatrice wracked by grief and guilt, she becomes ever more reckless. There are even more shocking truths and secrets to unfold which will leave you speechless allegiant coversAllegiant is the third and final book of Divergent Trilogy which is one of the most eagerly awaited book of October 2013 after The House of Hades by Rick Riordan which has already entered into the bestseller club in the span of two days. I would recommend the Divergent series to anyone looking for hunger game similar series a fast paced book full of adventure with also a hint of romance. This book is simply a must read.

Matched series by Allyson Braithwaite Condiewhich matched trilogy by ally condie buy

Next could be Matched series by Allyson Braithwaite Condiewhich is also similar to Hunger Game series and also comes in the genre of dystopic teen book. Matched has three book in the series. They are Matched, Crossed, and the breathtaking conclusion, Reached. All three of them has released and are bestsellers. In fact this is a series tailor-made for Hunger Games readers. It is story about a society where teens at the age of seventeen are matched with their suitable partner and are bound to marry that particular person only. The few officials dictates the life of rest of the people .What if you fall for someone else. What happen then is what in nutshell the summary of the series. The series has everything which will keep you hooked to the book. I particularly liked the covers of all the three books in series. They tell so much and what to expect.

giver quartet lois lowryThe Giver by Lois Lowry

The Giver by Lois Lowry is also a dystopic teen book which is written in the same line of above mentioned books like Hunger Games, Divergent and Matched. Only difference is that it was published in 2006. I haven’t read the book myself as of now but based on the reviews of other readers on sites like Amazon, Goodreads, B&N it seems to be a good series to read. It is the story about the a boy named Jonas who considered his community to be perfect where there is no war, disease, and suffering and everything is perfect. But his utopia is short lived when he started discovering the hypocrisy of his society. This is a quartet series by Lois Lowry. The four book in The Giver quartet series are The Giver, Gathering Blues, Messanger and Son. Each has a different story but of same society.

The fifth wave by rick yanceyThe Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

The fifth Wave is the first part of the series and I must say it is terrifying and mind blowing yet compelling . It is a  is dystopical sci-fi which is about aliens attack on Earth. These aliens can convert themselves into just like human beings. They attacks Earth in different waves. The first wave of attacks leaves people without use of electricity. The second wave results in coastal destruction. The third wave brings plague. The fourth wave involves the Others, the aliens, hunting the last specks of humanity. What the Fifth Wave has in store is what the story is all about.

The 5th Wave is also about a girl, Cassie Sullivan,  a frizzy haired girl, who fights back. Her character came out so well that you could feel it and wanted her to be safe.  Every aspect of this book is incredibly, every scene  about life or death is so vivid, from action to love triangle. Awesome book. Its sequel The Infinite Sea is all set to release in May, 2014.

0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes

Ritu Mantri

Ritu is an avid book reader. She also reviews books and have reviewed around 200+ books till date. Her target is to finish 1000 books.
Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: